HomeAnnouncementGriffo presents New York State Senate Commendation Awards 

Griffo presents New York State Senate Commendation Awards 

Cassandra Harris-Lockwood stands with Senator Griffo after receiving her award

UTICA – At a special ceremony on November 12 at Munson Williams Proctor Arts Institute in Utica, New York State Sen. Joseph Griffo, R-I-C-Rome, presented New York State Commendation Awards to several members of the community. The award is one way the Senate recognizes exceptional people who have made a lasting contribution to their community.  

Those honored included: 

  • John Brown, real estate professional and business owner. 
  • Anna Tobin D’Ambrosio, president and CEO of Munson Williams Proctor Arts Institute. 
  • Frank DuRoss, vice president for community development and executive director of institutional advancement at Mohawk Valley Community College and co-founder of the Utica Comets. 
  • Greeley Ford, musician who is active in the community. 
  • Freddie Hamilton, community activist and former Utica councilwoman. 
  • Cassandra Harris-Lockwood, community activist, founder and CEO of For the Good Inc. and editor of The Utica Phoenix. 
  • Joan Grande, community advocate. 
  • Joseph Kelly, writer, television host and historian. 
  • Dr. Steven Kussin, local physician. 
  • Zaida Morell, community advocate. 
  • Charles Sprock, retired chairman, president and CEO of Rome Savings Bank. 
  • James Stasaitis, director of the Boilermaker Road Race. 

Honorees received a personalized plaque and commendation coin as part of the ceremony. 

Charles Gaetano, Don Carbone, Al Carbone, Albert Mazloom and RoAnn Destito were also recognized but unable to attend today’s ceremony.

“It is a great pleasure to recognize these individuals,” Sen. Griffo said. “Each has shown remarkable commitment and dedication to improving their communities. Their exceptional work has truly made the Mohawk Valley a better place for all.”  

Most Popular